Stew

Active Directory authentication

I have been tasked with updating login verification in a number of Delphi applications to use Active Directory rather than the existing method of reading from an internal db table.  I have never used AD in any application before, so I have been looking on  line for helpful files/components that will allow me to access basic user attributes in AD.  Everything I have come across so far is relatively old and frequently the links that are cited no longer work.  Does anybody know of helpful  AD access components, please?  I m using XE3.

Thanks for any pointers :classic_smile:

12 minutes ago, Stew said:

Does anybody know of helpful  AD access components, please?

You don't need any components. Just use the COM interface: https://docs.microsoft.com/windows/win32/adsi/active-directory-service-interfaces-adsi

I haven't worked with AD but my guess is that you just need to import the relevant type library and work from there (Component > Import Component...):

image.thumb.png.cf7c3977e2e0302e27f9b3af5a6a801d.png

but start by reading the documentation.

That or just find some information on how to access a LDAP server, AD is an extended LDAP server.
(if you search delphi ldap activedirectory, you will find examples)

6 hours ago, Stew said:

any pointers

Once you have the type library imported see: ADsOpenObject

Edited by FredS