A.M. Hoornweg

Cannot run sample programs on Android

Hello all,

I'm totally new to Android, and so far I'm having zero success getting Embarcadero's sample programs to run on Android.

I am running Delphi 10.4 inside a VMWare VM.  On my host machine, I have the Bluestacks 4.215.0.1019 emulator running, with ADB debugging enabled. 

Connection details: I am aware that Bluestacks only binds to localhost (127.0.0.1) so I have setup a port forwarding on the host (netsh interface portproxy add  v4tov4 listenport=5556 connectaddress=127.0.0.1 connectport=5555) so that I can connect to the emulator from external IP addresses through TCP port 5556. I have enabled both ports 5555 and 5556 in the firewall.  I have tested this setup and I can successfully connect to the emulator from my Delphi VM ("adb connect ip-address:5556") and send adb commands to it.  I had expected this connectivity to be the biggest hurdle but it worked immediately.

I have cloned Embarcadero's official sample repository from github (https://github.com/Embarcadero/RADStudio10.4Demos.git) and now I'm trying to compile and run the application in "Samples\Object Pascal\Multi-Device Samples\User Interface\Forms".  I've activated the Android 32-bit target (guessing that Bluestacks emulates a 32 bit device) and the Delphi IDE "sees" the device without problems (see screenshot),  it's called "SM-G973F".  

Since this is an "official" demo application, I was hoping things would work out of the box so I could use it as a starting point! 
But when I press F9, Delphi does a lengthy compiling act, and then throws the following errors:

[PAClient Error] Error: E2312 Unable to execute '"C:\Users\Public\Documents\Embarcadero\Studio\21.0\PlatformSDKs\android-sdk-windows\build-tools\28.0.2\Aapt.exe" 
package -f -M "C:\Users\Public\Documents\Embarcadero\Studio\21.0\Samples\Object Pascal\Multi-Device Samples\User Interface\Forms\Android\Debug\Forms\AndroidManifest.xml"