NamoRamana

COM server to MARS

Newbie here.. We have a lot of COM+ server components ( > 30 COM dlls developed in Delphi 2006) in the present system. We are evaluating to convert them in Delphi Rio based some REST server, preferably keeping the endpoint signatures the same (to make minimum changes in a huge delphi client application). It will be a huge undertaking, apart from unicode etc related conversion (64-bit conversion will be the next step; after successful 32bit upgrade). I was wondering if MARS can ease this server migration?

- in MARS, can I install multiple resources under the same server ? Idea here is that, each com server dll will act as own resource and its public methods will be the endpoints. For the better code management, is it possible to keep each resource code in its separate delphi project? how complex will be the installation of the REST server and these multiple resources, if we host them in IIS?

- in current COM servers, Many of the method calls make heavy use of OleVarients as input and output paramas. Is there anything in MARS/REST that can keep those method signature same ?

- in current COM env, we see some heavily used components slow down the end-user response a lot (sometimes, we have to reboot the host server). Do you think, MARS based REST service can handle a lots requests to a resource(I don't have request numbers)?

Sorry for the lot of heavy questions. Your response/strategy/recommendation to tackle this upgrade will be helpful.

Thank you :).

I would respectfully request you to have a look at an alternative web platform I've been working on: https://github.com/stijnsanders/xxm

It's not really designed to do REST endpoints, but all of the worker threads are COM enabled and also the main interface to generically connect all of the things any HTTP server environment offers is a COM interface.