happySuzhou

My Delphi App using a REST Service quits unexpectedly on Big Sur

Since upgrading to Big Sur, if an attempt to connect to the REST service fails, the App quits unexpectedly. For example, this happens if the user does not have WiFi open and tries to connect, or if the user cannot access the server (i.e. if the server is temporarily unavailable).

On previous versions of MacOS, the exception was handled correctly inside the App. 

Is there something I need to add to plist or something? Or has anything network related been phased out? 

(The App is developed using Delphi 10.3.3 Community Edition with TRestRequest and executeasync; on Catalina and earlier the ACompletionHandlerWithError is called and the exception handled there).

I believe the error being thrown is Runtime Error 231.

(I am very new to Apple Development, so apologies if I have missed an obvious place to search for information on this!)
There are no issues on Android, iOS or Windows or previous MacOS; only Big Sur.  

Patch released: December Apple Platforms Patch for RAD Studio 10.4.1 1.0 from December 17, 2020:

8 hours ago, Lars Fosdal said:

He is on 10.3.3 Community edition.

my fault ... sorry!  :classic_blush:

A fix for 10.3.3 Community edition would be really highly appreciated!!!  

Could anyone explain a work-around to fix this specific issue?  I've tried using NetHTTPRequest to check the connection first, and I get the same problem.  

I'm going to have some unhappy students in March if I can't fix this. 😞 

I'm using the Community Edition to make non-commercial free apps which my students (not from Computer Science) also like to use, especially on MacOS.  I'm not teaching Delphi programming, so at the moment I don't think educational licenses match my situation.  But I don't get any income from programming.