Sign in to follow this  

A book about Object Pascal Style Guide

I know this is a controversial topic, but nonetheless it deserves some attention.

I wrote a book about style guides for Object Pascal, after so many years in different projects with different approaches into coding style. Being a Certified Delphi Developer I would of course prefer a formalized style guide, but with colleagues rarely aware of style guides available, it has been difficult to work in environments with changing degree of arbitrariness.

Beside raising awareness of available style guides, the book has been an exercise in writing a book. Obviously, it takes some time to write a book, and the experience will determine a pursue into 3-4 other titles about programming.

This book is free and although written in English, it is not my mother tongue, and thus lacking proofreading. Being a free book proofreading by professionals in English was not and option.

I hope this can be of some help in a more pragmatic view of coding styles, or a more professional approach to style guides. At least it cost nothing. The book in PDF format is available at:

https://sourceforge.net/projects/object-pascal-style-guide/

Best regards,
Normann

This looks very interesting.

After a quick skim of one topic on I note that there's an error on page 89 that is worth addressing. LTextFile is protected by a try/finally but created after the try rather than before the try. 

In that example I'd also put the try of the try/except immediately after the assignment to Result rather than two lines before it. 

For what it is worth I'm sure that if you had posted here then quote a few people would have read your book and looked for errors and given feedback. I would happily have done so and would still do so. 

Edited by David Heffernan
  • Like 1

Hi David.

I appreciate your feedback, and I will take a look at the example and find a simpler construct.